There are multiple ways to reduce the friction students experience within their coursework. This page highlights the common types of library materials faculty use and how to add them to your course in a way that isn't too confusing to students.
Additionally, the instruction librarians have created multiple modules and research videos to assist students in topic selection, searching, evaluating, and synthesizing research and ideas into a cohesive product. Take a look and reach our to your liaison librarian if you have questions.
This link opens in a new windowWant to embed articles directly into your Canvas course? With any of the GALE databases (ex. below), that is possible! Contact Jesse Schreier to have this plug in added to your Canvas course.
To include library resources from Ebsco, you will need to provide a link to the item. Be sure to use the permanent URL, sometimes referred to as a "permalink."
For Ebsco articles, look for the permalink option either along the right or at the top of the page:
This link opens in a new windowWhen linking to a library eBook within your course, be sure to use the permanent URL, sometimes referred to as a "permalink."
For Ebsco eBooks (the majority of our collection), look for the permalink option either along the right or at the top of the page:
For Gale eBooks, such as Short Stories for Students, use the bookmark icon along the top.
For Infobase eBooks, such as the Bloom's series, use the Direct URL along the left: 
For Salem Press eBooks, such as the Critical Insights literature series, please contact the library for the permalink.
It is easy to link to a Credo article or embed a topic page or Credo Reference article into your Canvas site.
For links, simple click on the permalink button next to the search bar and add that as a url to your canvas site. 
To embed the article or topic page, you need to grab the embed code from Credo and paste it into your Canvas page. There are detailed instructions and screenshots below. 
This link opens in a new windowAdding a Films on Demand film to your Canvas site is easy, because Canvas "talks to FOD already. Find your film in the database below and follow the instructions.
About Films on Demand: Films on demand is a large collection of streaming films geared towards academic use. What you see is what you get... all films in this database are available for immediate use.
To include films from Swank in your Canvas course, browse to the desired film and click the Share button. You may choose either the direct link or the LMS link (contains HTML).
Swank does not have the ability to embed a film in Canvas at this time.
About Swank: This service includes 25 pre-selected films, with the ability to choose 25 more during the academic year.
Suggest a film: To make a film suggestion, visit Swank and chose the Instructor role. Create an instructor account using your Massasoit email and a password. Browse or search for a film. When you have found a film you would like to use in your class, click on the film and use the Request button.
To include films from Kanopy in your Canvas course, browse to the desired film. Under the film, click on the Share button.
You can then copy the sharable link or the embed code, whichever you prefer.
About Kanopy: This service contains films that can be requested for class use, which the library can then license for 1 year.
Suggest a film: To make a film suggestion, search for a film or topic. Click on "Request Access" in order to show films that we do not currently have a license to. When you find the film you want, select it and fill out the "Request for Access" form.
According to Netflix, if the film you want to show is in the Netflix Media Center, you can screen the film to students as long as you follow the terms and conditions listed on the Educational Screenings of Documentaries page.
Important conditions: