Research Materials - ECED - Early Childhood Education - Massasoit Libraries at Massasoit Library

Research Educational Issues

Or Search Education Databases with Specific Keywords

ERIC

Content: Policy reports and academic articles from early childhood through higher education. Use the “Index” feature to narrow down results by specific legislation, institution, or type of assessment.
Professional Development Collection

Content: Peer-reviewed education journals and educational data reports
Google Scholar

Content: A wide range of academic literature, drawing from journal publishers, university repositories, and other scholarly websites. Use the “cited” and “cited by” buttons below the results to view related scholarly literature on a topic. Look for the Find@Massasoit link on the results page to link back into Massasoit databases. Tutorial
Teacher Reference Center

Content: Indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines.

ECE Books

The Basics of Leading a Child-Care Business by Marnie Forestieri
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780876598856

Publication Date: 2021-04-01

The Basics of Leading a Child-Care Business explains how to develop and lead a high-quality program where children can play and learn in the care of a well-educated, committed, and trained workforce.
The Basics of Starting a Child-Care Business by Marnie Forestieri
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780876598375

Publication Date: 2020-05-01

The Basics of Starting a Child-Care Business walks readers through each step of planning, developing, and launching their own child-care business.
The Ultimate Child Care Marketing Guide by Kris Murray
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781605540832

Publication Date: 2012-02-14

The Ultimate Child Care Marketing Guide is filled with exercises, action steps, and strategies to help you become a more business-savvy leader and entrepreneurial thinker. Built around the four pillars of marketing--metrics, market, message, and media--this resource will help you grow your child care business, whether you run a small program or large center.

An ABC of Early Childhood Education by Sandra Smidt
Call Number: LB1139.23 .S64 2015

ISBN: 9781138019775

Publication Date: 2014-09-23

This unique and engaging resource describes, critiques and analyses the significance of a wide range of contemporary and classic ideas about how young children learn. Students on early years education courses at a range of levels will find this an essential and enlightening companion text, for use throughout their studies.

Planning for Effective Early Learning by Jennie Lindon
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781907241444

Publication Date: 2012-11-12

This title addresses the challenge of developing an awareness of each child's needs and interests in your setting, and planning accordingly. The book covers: supporting others in their planning and leading change, the reason for planning and how to develop professional planning skills.
Leadership in Early Education in Times of Change by Johanna Heikka (Editor); Eeva Hujala (Editor); Jillian Rodd (Editor); Petra Strehmel (Editor); Manjula Waniganayake (Editor)
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9783847412243

Publication Date: 2019-07-29

It covers different aspects of leadership in early education: professional education and development, identity and leadership strategies as well as governance and leadership under different frame conditions.

Creative Materials and Activities for the Early Childhood Curriculum by Joan Packer Isenberg; Jenn Durham
Call Number: LB 1139.35 A7 I87

ISBN: 9780132463126

Publication Date: 2014-07-13

Innovative, practical, and easy to use, Creative Materials and Activities for the Early Childhood Curriculum is the ideal research-based resource for helping all children from infancy through grade five learn in, through, and with the arts, while meeting national and state standards.
The Excellence of Play, 4th ed by Janet Moyles
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9780335264193

Publication Date: 2015

Retaining its popular approach and style, this new edition reflects the contemporary context of early childhood education and care as well emerging research on young children's development. The emphasis remains firmly on demonstrating the excellence of play and its contribution to children's overall learning and development in the early years, and the role of adults in promoting inspirational playful pedagogies. It offers new coverage on topics such as brain development, gender, babies' play, cultural diversity and inclusion, children as researchers, new technologies, outdoor play and international dimensions
Sensory Play for Toddlers and Preschoolers by Casey Patch
Call Number: eBook

ISBN: 9781510762497

Publication Date: 2020-04-02

Explore taste-safe small worlds, create colorful pieces of art, and engage all five senses while investigating the great outdoors. Inside the book, you'll find forty easy sensory play tubs and activities with extra bonus ideas for extending the activities even further! Sensory play allows our little learners to make connections as they explore the world around them using their senses of sight, smell, taste, sound, and touch.

Preparing Children for Reading Success by Julia Irwin; Dina Moore
Call Number: LB 1050 I784

ISBN: 9780810892538

Publication Date: 2014-10-16

This book will not only familiarize anyone who reads to young children with the essentials of promoting early and emerging literacy, but also contains more than 25 ready-to-go activities that can be immediately used to foster this critical skill development.
Who's Doing the Work? by Jan Miller Burkins; Kim Yaris
ISBN: 9781625310750

Publication Date: 2016-04-13

This thoughtful book suggests small but powerful adjustments to instruction that will increase reading independence. It examines how mainstays such as Read-Aloud and Shared, Guided, and Independent Reading look in classrooms where students do most of the work.