Skip to Main Content
Books
Public/Community Health and Nursing Practice by Christine L. Savage; Gordon L. Gillespie; Erin R. Whitehouse
This problem-solving, case-based approach shows you how to apply public health knowledge across all settings and populations. You'll encounter different case studies in every chapter as you explore concepts such as community assessments, public health policy, and surveillance. Step by step, you'll develop the knowledge and skills you need to apply public health principles across a variety of health care settings, special populations, and scenarios, and to evaluate their effectiveness.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781719647144
Publication Date: 2023
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by Gloria Kersey-Matusiak
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780826137272
Publication Date: 2019
The Nurse's Handbook of Spiritual Care by Pamela Cone; Tove Giske
The Nurse's Handbook of Spiritual Care helps nurses develop a high level of competence in spiritual and existential care as an important part of holistic nursing. Every patient and situation a nurse encounters is unique, and spiritual relationships can be expressed and met in a variety of ways. This handbook covers the fundamentals of spiritual care, written to inspire and challenge the reader.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119890775
Publication Date: 2022
Caring for the Displaced and Uninsured by Leslie Neal-Boylan
Caring for the Displaced and Uninsured presents clinical case studies that focus on the issues faced primarily by patients who are uninsured, self-paying, or are visiting from their home countries. While addressing the clinical aspects of primary care for a variety of conditions, these case studies go a step further to confront the issues faced by patients who seek care in clinics for the uninsured. Each case highlights the challenges presented by cultural, language and economic differences to providing high quality care, in particular for those whose jobs negatively affect their health, such as through musculoskeletal pain, neurological problems, prolonged standing, depression, or anxiety about feeding and housing their families. The cases explore how the healthcare provider approaches care with insufficient resources for patients who may have fled torture and violence, poverty and homelessness to face new challenges in the United States. The healthcare provider plays a key role in the adjustment of people seeking a better life for themselves and their families.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781119866039
Publication Date: 2022
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by Karen J. Foli; John R. Thompson
As nurses know firsthand, the impact of psychological trauma is not limited to those who experience it. Others--including nurses and caregivers--are indirectly affected. In healthcare, patients' psychological trauma may manifest in odd, uncomfortable, or confusing behaviors. Nurses and healthcare workers must recognize that patients may be feeling unsafe or struggling with low self-esteem, anxiety, grief, loneliness, or depression born from trauma.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781945157981
Publication Date: 2019
INSPIREd Healthcare: Revolutionizing Care Coordination Delivery to Achieve Success by Billie Lynn Allard
In today’s environment where healthcare costs are outpacing the economy, healthcare systems are shifting from fee-for-service to value-based payment to deliver high-quality care while reducing costs. This shift presents nurses with the opportunity to take the lead in transforming care delivery and achieve the Triple Aim goals: improving patient experience of care, improving health of populations, and reducing per capita healthcare costs. INSPIREd Healthcare follows author Billie Lynn Allard and her team of nurses as they successfully implement an accountable community of health in pursuit of the Triple Aim. The INSPIRE Model they follow provides an evidence-based blueprint for other healthcare systems hoping to solve the complicated problems surrounding care transitions and health promotion.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781948057295
Publication Date: 2020
Classics
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by Lippincott Williams Lippincott Williams & Wilkins
Confidently provide best practices in patient care, with the newly updated Lippincott Nursing Procedures, 9th Edition More than 400 entries offer detailed, evidence-based guidance on procedures ranging from the most basic patient care to assisting with intricate surgeries.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781975178581
Publication Date: 2022
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, 11th ed by Sandra Nettina
A classic nursing reference, the fully updated Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition , offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment. Essential for both in-the-classroom and on-the-unit guidance, this is the expertise that all students, new nurses, and medical-surgical nurses need to grasp essential nursing concepts, care management, and procedures.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781496379955
Publication Date: 2019
Scope & Standards
Public Health Nursing: Scope & Standard by American Nurses Association
Public Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, is an essential document for every public health nurse practicing in the United States. The scope of practice statement answers the who, what, when, where, how, and why questions of public health nursing.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780999308820
Publication Date: 2022
Public/Community Health and Nursing Practice by
This problem-solving, case-based approach shows you how to apply public health knowledge across all settings and populations. You'll encounter different case studies in every chapter as you explore concepts such as community assessments, public health policy, and surveillance. Step by step, you'll develop the knowledge and skills you need to apply public health principles across a variety of health care settings, special populations, and scenarios, and to evaluate their effectiveness.
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
Newly revised and updated, Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care, Second Edition, explores the cross-cultural interactions and conflicts between nurses and the diverse array of patients they may see. Culturally competent nurses can cut through preconceptions, reduce health disparities, and deliver high-quality care as they encounter patients from a range of backgrounds and beliefs. As frontline providers for diverse populations, nurses are expected to treat each patient with empathy and respect. This text addresses what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice.
Environmental Health in Nursing by
The book includes information on basic environmental health principles and common environmental health hazards (e.g., in our water, air, schools, hospitals, and homes). It offers a patient assessment tool for exposure to these hazards and strategies for "greener" use of hospital resources. This is both a nursing textbook and a practice manual.
Dossey and Keegan's Holistic Nursing: a Handbook for Practice by
Dossey & Keegan's Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice, Eighth Edition covers basic and advanced concepts of holism, demonstrating how holistic nursing spans all specialties and levels. This text is distinguished by its emphasis on theory, research, and evidence-based practice essential to holistic nursing.
Caring for Older Adults Holistically by
Be prepared to meet the growing demand for licensed practical/vocational nurses with the knowledge and skills to provide quality care to older adults.
The Nurse's Handbook of Spiritual Care by
The Nurse's Handbook of Spiritual Care helps nurses develop a high level of competence in spiritual and existential care as an important part of holistic nursing. Every patient and situation a nurse encounters is unique, and spiritual relationships can be expressed and met in a variety of ways. This handbook covers the fundamentals of spiritual care, written to inspire and challenge the reader.
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research by
Caring for the Vulnerable: Perspectives in Nursing Theory, Practice, and Research focuses on vulnerable populations and how nurses can care for them, develop programs for them, conduct research, and influence health policy.
Caring for the Displaced and Uninsured by
Caring for the Displaced and Uninsured presents clinical case studies that focus on the issues faced primarily by patients who are uninsured, self-paying, or are visiting from their home countries. While addressing the clinical aspects of primary care for a variety of conditions, these case studies go a step further to confront the issues faced by patients who seek care in clinics for the uninsured. Each case highlights the challenges presented by cultural, language and economic differences to providing high quality care, in particular for those whose jobs negatively affect their health, such as through musculoskeletal pain, neurological problems, prolonged standing, depression, or anxiety about feeding and housing their families. The cases explore how the healthcare provider approaches care with insufficient resources for patients who may have fled torture and violence, poverty and homelessness to face new challenges in the United States. The healthcare provider plays a key role in the adjustment of people seeking a better life for themselves and their families.
The Influence of Psychological Trauma in Nursing by
As nurses know firsthand, the impact of psychological trauma is not limited to those who experience it. Others--including nurses and caregivers--are indirectly affected. In healthcare, patients' psychological trauma may manifest in odd, uncomfortable, or confusing behaviors. Nurses and healthcare workers must recognize that patients may be feeling unsafe or struggling with low self-esteem, anxiety, grief, loneliness, or depression born from trauma.
INSPIREd Healthcare: Revolutionizing Care Coordination Delivery to Achieve Success by
In today’s environment where healthcare costs are outpacing the economy, healthcare systems are shifting from fee-for-service to value-based payment to deliver high-quality care while reducing costs. This shift presents nurses with the opportunity to take the lead in transforming care delivery and achieve the Triple Aim goals: improving patient experience of care, improving health of populations, and reducing per capita healthcare costs. INSPIREd Healthcare follows author Billie Lynn Allard and her team of nurses as they successfully implement an accountable community of health in pursuit of the Triple Aim. The INSPIRE Model they follow provides an evidence-based blueprint for other healthcare systems hoping to solve the complicated problems surrounding care transitions and health promotion.
False Dawn: The Rise & Decline of Public Health Nursing by
Since its initial publication in 1989, False Dawn: The Rise and Decline of Public Health Nursing remains the definitive work on the creation, work, successes, and failures of public health nursing in the United States.
School Success: An Opportunity for Population Health by
Fostering collaboration and aligning efforts within the health and education sectors is a critical step towards building stronger and healthier communities.
The Morehouse Model: How One School of Medicine Revolutionized Community Engagement and Health Equity by
In The Morehouse Model, Ronald L. Braithwaite and his coauthors reveal the lessons learned over the decades since the school's founding--lessons that other medical schools and health systems will be eager to learn in the hope of replicating Morehouse's success. Describing the philosophical, cultural, and contextual grounding of the Morehouse Model, they give concrete examples of it in action before explaining how to foster the collaboration between community-based organizations and university faculty that is essential to making this model of care and research work.
Lippincott Nursing Procedures by
Confidently provide best practices in patient care, with the newly updated Lippincott Nursing Procedures, 9th Edition More than 400 entries offer detailed, evidence-based guidance on procedures ranging from the most basic patient care to assisting with intricate surgeries.
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, 11th ed by
A classic nursing reference, the fully updated Lippincott Manual for Nursing Practice, 11th Edition , offers expert nursing knowledge and much-needed practical guidance on patient care Authoritative yet easy to follow, this comprehensive text guides you through the nursing concepts and skills particularly vital for medical-surgical assessment, care, and treatment. Essential for both in-the-classroom and on-the-unit guidance, this is the expertise that all students, new nurses, and medical-surgical nurses need to grasp essential nursing concepts, care management, and procedures.
Holistic Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice 3rd Edition by 