Getting Started

Welcome to the Children's Literature research guide. This guide contains:

Link to the best databases for literary criticism
Book titles to aid your research
Information on children's book awards

Background
Websites

Children's Literature by Seth Lerer
Call Number: PN1009.A1 L44 2008
The Norton Anthology of Children's Literature by Lissa Paul; Lynne Vallone (Editor); Gillian Avery (Editor); Peter Hunt (Editor); Jack Zipes
Call Number: PZ5 .N655 2005
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Jack Zipes (Editor)
Call Number: PN1008.5 .O94 2006 V.1 - 4
Children's Literature in Context by Fiona McCulloch
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011-11-24

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics.
Children's Literature A digitized "collection of the treasures of children's literature published largely in the United States and Great Britain from before 1850 to beyond 1950." Features more than 550 titles by almost 300 authors. Browse by author or title; searchable by keyword, author, title, and subject. Also includes a section on color in literature for children and color management strategies for reproduction of children's literature. From the State University System of Florida.
Children's Literature Association A non-profit association of scholars, critics, professors, students, librarians, teachers and institutions dedicated to the academic study of literature for children.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards.
De Grummond Children's Literature Collection A collection of children's literature that focuses on historical and contemporary American and British literature. The searchable archives contain "the original manuscripts and illustrations of more than 1200 authors and illustrators, as well as over 70,000 published books dating from 1530 to the present" and include fables, fairy tales, folklore, alphabet books, nursery rhymes, moral tales, fantasy, and fiction. From the University of Southern Mississippi Libraries.
The Library of Congress Center for the Book Promotes books and libraries, literacy and reading, and poetry and literature.
Picture Book Artists Association of professional children's trade book illustrators

Finding Articles

Artemis (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Combines Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, and the "For Students" series in one interface. Tutorial